Working out the logistics of the 500 mile challenge

Wooow such a stressful week, zero running this week due to quarantine, only managed 7 miles the week before! Not a good start despite initially being very optimistic!

So I have never done a 500 mile challenge before although looking at my gym records for the past year it is definitely manageable and I may have hit that target if not, very very close. I have worked out that I would need to average 9 miles a week for the rest of the year. This has obviously increased due to my recent inactivity. I should be able to get out at the end of the week, feeling optimistic! I think that is the best way forward with anything in life: look on the bright side.

At the moment I am on a 5k program working up to a 10k. I am building my stamina. I figured some smaller goals to focus on rather than just hitting the ground to pound in those miles would work best. So first goal would be to go sub 30 mins in the 5k, I am ridiculously close to this one, and then the 10k. If I move onto the 10k I should easily make up those lost miles, so all is not lost at this stage.

After doing some research and posting on some forums, the general advice is to go as slow as a snail to build the stamina and then go for the speed. I have a tendency to run too fast.

I am logging my stuff on Runkeeper at the moment on my phone, just got a Salomon arm-band which I haven’t been able to use!!! The Runkeeper App seems to work well mapping my run, although it appears more sluggish than the old App. So does Spotify actually, but that has always been slow. Having the two apps running does appear to drain my battery like hell (my phone ran out of battery during my last run, I know it wasn’t on full charge but not sure how much!), so I may have to save up for a running watch but that’ll be a consideration as I up my mileage.

Does anyone know how to keep a buff up over your mouth without it falling down mid run?! Terribly annoying!

Leave a Reply

